Department of Community Services

The Department of Community Services is comprised of six divisions: Public Information Office, Office of the Chief of Staff, Communications Dispatch and 9-1-1, Crime Stoppers, Community Outreach, and Youth and Neighborhood Services.

The Public Information Office prepares news releases, co-ordinates print and broadcast coverage of agency events and acts as the liaison between BSO and the local, state and national media at crime scenes and other activities that generate media interest.

Office of the Chief of Staff is responsible for all public safety initiatives, printed material (including brochures, posters and ads), BSO's internal and external websites and all employee communication.

The Communications Center provides 9-1-1 intake, teletype and dispatch services for all unincorporated areas of Broward County, 23 law enforcement municipalities, 20 fire rescue municipalities and numerous special patrol areas including the Ft. Lauderdale-Hollywood International Airport, Port Everglades, BSO Department of Detention, Court Services and other areas.

The Broward County Crime Stoppers Program began in Broward County in 1981 to assist all Broward Law Enforcement Agencies in gathering information from the public. From the inception of the program the Broward Sheriff's Department has provided the specially trained unit staff which gathers anonymous tips and directs them to appropriate agencies as part of its commitment to county wide services. Crime Stoppers itself is a separate nonprofit organization governed by a volunteer board of Directors which raises and oversees the expenditure of reward funds. All monies raised for rewards are used exclusively for that purpose. No taxpayer monies are expended.

The Community Outreach Team, Community Projects and Community Support Divisions work closely with the community though various initiatives. These include homeless outreach, the crisis intervention team and the juvenile citation as well as anti-bullying programs. This division also works in partnership with Broward County's diverse communities.

Pursuant to receiving 2017 Edward Byrne Memorial Justice Assistance Grant funding from the Department of Justice, BSO must provide a copy of the solicitation for public review and feedback. Byrne-Jag funding is available to 17 municipalities and BSO as determined by its crime stats and population. BSO has seven contracted cities eligible to receive funds and they include:

  • District 2 (Dania Beach)
  • District 4 (Lauderdale Lakes)
  • District 7 (Tamarac)
  • District 10 (Deerfield Beach)
  • District 11 (Pompano Beach)
  • District 12 (Oakland Park)
  • District 15 (North Lauderdale)
The application is due to the Department of Justice on September 3, 2017. If there are any questions feel free to contact Grants Coordinator Norma McGraw at 954-321-4473.

Command Staff
Office of the Chief of Staff
Community Outreach Team
Youth & Neighborhood Services
The Broward Sheriff's Advisory Council
The Sheriff's Foundation of Broward County
Law Enforcement Trust Funds (LETF)
Public Information Office

Translate This Page:

Robert R. Pusins

Executive Director Robert R. Pusins
Executive Director Communications

View Bio

Executive Director Robert R. Pusins served with the Fort Lauderdale Police Department for over 30 years. He began his career as a police officer and worked through the ranks as a field training officer, detective, sergeant, captain, commander, major... more